Afrimma Awards 2018 (Recap) – Full Winners List


All roads led to Texas, USA on October 8th, 2018 for the 5th edition of the annual African Muzik Magazine Awards () which was held at the House of Blues, Dallas, Texas.

It truly was a night to remember as Africans came together in various shades of glamour to celebrate a shared love for music; patrons and thespians alike. However, what truly sealed the deal for us was seeing Nigerian artistes shine brightly with well-deserved accolades.

The maiden edition of the annual music award was held on the 27th of December 2014 at Oriental Hotel, Lagos, Nigeria. The event which is in collaboration with African Union was established with the sole aim of rewarding and celebrating musical talents and creativity around the African continent.

The complete winners list which was revealed via Instagram on ’s official Instagram page had winners in over twenty categories with Nigeria superstar, Wizkid bagging the “Song of the year Award” and Yemi Alade clinching the “best female artiste of the year award”.

Furthermore, Davido won the award for “Best Male West Africa”, a position he had also held last year and Burna Boy also took home the trophy for “Best African Dancehall/Reggae Act” making 2018 a very successful year for the Nigerian Music Industry.


Best Male West Africa: Davido – Nigeria

Best Female West Africa: Yemi Alade – Nigeria

Best Male East Africa: Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Best Female East Africa: Sheebah Karungi – Uganda

Best Male Central Africa: Fally Ipupa – Congo

Best Female Central Africa: Daphne – Cameroon

Best Male Southern Africa: Nasty C – South Africa

Best Female Southern Africa: Ammara Brown – Zimbabwe

Best Male North Africa: Ihab Amir – Morroco

Best Female North Africa: Souhila Ben Lachhab – Algeria

Best African Group: Toofan – Togo

Crossing Boundaries with Music Award: MHD – Senegal/ France

Best Gospel: Papa Dennis – Kenya

Best Newcomer: Ykee Benda – Uganda

Artist of the Year: Fally Ipupa – Congo

Best Live Act: Flavour – Nigeria

Best DJ Africa: Dj Dollar – Senegal

Best African DJ USA: Dj Ecool – Nigeria

AFRIMMA Video of the Year: Wizkid –“Soco

Music Producer of the Year: Masterkraft – Nigeria

Best African Dancer: Didi Emah – Nigeria

Best Rap Act: Khaligraph Jones – Kenya

Song of the Year: Wizkid“Soco”

Best Lusophone: Kyaku Kyadaff – Angola

Best Francophone: Toofan – Togo

Best African Dancehall/Reggae Act: Burna Boy – Nigeria


AFRIMMA Beacon of Hope Award: Queen Julie Endee

AFRIMMA Shining Star Award: Semah – Liberia

AFRIMMA Excellence Award: Erykah Badu

AFRIMMA Leadership in Music Award: Fally Ipupa

Congratulations to all winners!



James Ogunjimi is a writer, music enthusiast, and public relations professional.He is the author of the novel, "A Wall Is Just A Wall" (Bahati Books, UK, 2018).As a PR professional, he's created content for brands like The Basement Gig, Premier Bet, Filmhouse Cinemas, Entefrica, Oxfam, Skyy Vodka, Aiteo, Aramide, etc.He lives for words and enjoys challenges. When he's not writing, he can often be found reading, dissing Chelsea and Arsenal as a loyal Manchester United fan, or pissing people off with unpopular opinions about politics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *